SCOTT SINCLAIR has commented on officiating which cost him his second hat trick in consecutive months after his third goal of the day was wrongly adjudged to be offside.

The Englishman scored a brace after missing a penalty and an absolute sitter against Airdrie but just before he was brought off he was put through on goal and neatly slotted the ball home.

The linesman immediately put his flag up, looking confident the player has strayed offside. Footage showed the midfielder was nowhere near being offside and the goal should have stood.

Speaking about the incident, Sinclair said he couldn’t believe it.

“I thought I was onside. I’ve seen it back and I was MILES on.” he told CelticTV.

“I was so unlucky but there is nothing I can do about it now.

“It was as clear as day to me. I couldn’t believe it because it seemed to me I was at least a couple of yards onside. So it is a bit disappointing.

It’s just been racked up as another honest mistake just days after a summit between managers and officials.

When it was so clearly onside, you have to wonder what these officials see.

Celtic won the game 3-0 in the end so no harm done this time, the standard of officiating is still in the gutter it would appear.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.