Kristoffer Ajer wasn’t part of the best young player shortlist for the PFA awards even though he has been a big standout in the league this season.

The 21-year-old was overlooked for the award and now he has been overlooked for young football writers player of the year. Aberdeen’s Lewis Ferguson, Motherwell’s Jake Hastie and David Turnbull along with Kilmarnock’s Greg Taylor have been shortlisted for the award.

When you look at Ajer’s contribution and the way he has broken into this Celtic side, it’s a fantastic story. The Norweigan has made some pivotal, season defining tackles and continues to show heart and passion on the field. Yet he’s not considered good enough for an award outside his club.

Ajer came away from Celtic’s Player of the Year awards as the young player of the year but to be overlooked for at least the PFA award pretty poor.

While the FW Young POTY has been won mostly by Scottish talent, Zurab Khizanishvili won the award back in 2003 when playing at Dundee.

UPDATE: Since the year Zurab Khizanishvili won the award, the FW association decided to nominate only Scottish born players for the award from 2004 onwards. There was no such rule for the PFA award.

Ajer could not have been up for this particular FW award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.