Soccer Football - Copa Sudamericana - Group H - Lanus v Gremio - Estadio Ciudad de Lanus, Buenos Aires, Argentina - April 29, 2021 Gremio's Rafinha in action with Lanus' Alexandro Bernabei Pool via REUTERS/Agustin Marcarian

Alex Bernabei is yet to be announced by the club despite being in Glasgow since Thursday.

Social media allows fans to investigate and track transfers like never before — the defender waved goodbye to his family and friends in Argentina last week and was then spotted at Glasgow Airport on Thursday.

Soccer Football – Copa Sudamericana – Semi final

There has been no news on any potential hold ups but the deal is still expected to go through.

As many of you know, Alexandro was sent off in his final game for Lanus before heading out to Glasgow. This could now be an issue for the bhoys if the suspension is carried over with him.

Ex-Fifa and Premier League referee Keith Hackett insisted there could be repercussions for Celtic.

“It’s a possibility,” Hackett said after analysing the footage with Football Insider.

Bernabei at Glasgow airport

“You can’t do that. You can’t react in that way, obviously.”

We will likely no more once the left back is confirmed. He could potentially miss Celtic’s first two SPFL ties against Aberdeen and Ross County.

Right now, fans won’t be too concerned about it. Greg Taylor is more than capable of playing those games and helping Celtic to wins.

Bernabei could have a longer settling down period at the club if the suspension does go through.

Hoops fans just want to see the player be announces first and foremost. Alexandro is coming in to challenge Greg for the starting spot at left-back. Given all the good tbh bs we’ve heard about the 21-year-old, it will be good to see him in action.

3 COMMENTS

  1. This might explain the delay. The Argentinian league continues so his suspension is technically in play in Argentina until his registration is transferred.

  2. Of course “you can’t do that” – no need to ask a former referee! A complete non-story as the content has been discussed from every angle since it happened!

  3. Apparently, the ex-ref didn’t watch the video, as the player didn’t headbutt anyone, the other player conned the ref. Just showed how willing refs are to make calls when they didn’t even see what really happened.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.