RYAN CHRISTIE has slammed referee Sergei Karasev after the Russian brandished a yellow following the VAR penalty decision.

Ryan’s arm was in an unnatural position and it was certainly a penalty. However, it wasn’t deliberate and shouldn’t have warranted a yellow card.

The referee rightly gave the penalty but then out of nowhere booked Ryan meaning he will now miss the home tie after accumulating too many yellows in this season’s competition.

This will be frustrating for the midfielder who had to serve an unwarranted two-match ban domestically after retrospective action in a Glasgow Derby game.

He will now have to sit in the stands next week and hope the bhoys can finish the job at Celtic Park – he’s not happy about it.

“The frustrating thing about the award is to get the yellow card afterwards.” He told SunSport.

“I don’t know what the rule is, but I’ve been booked for a deliberate handball and I think everyone can see it’s definitely not deliberate. I was just using my arms to jump.

“It’s a shame I’ll now miss the second leg. It feels like again I’m getting a suspension for something I don’t think is right.”

Celtic were well in control of the tie first half but in the second half they faded away and invited pressure onto themselves. It could have been done and dusted at one stage but it also could have been a defeat in the end so 1-1 is a fair result.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.